Lessons Learned @ Home

Posted: July 13, 2009 in Underage Drinking Prevention
Tags: , , , ,

A Lincoln radio station http://www.klin.com/called me on Friday about the MOM who received 9 days jail for procuring kegs for underage kids.  She stated she didn’t know what was going on but then ultimately told the Judge she did.  I think a person should get 9 days jail just for not telling the Judge the truth!Jail

Parents we can not fall into the friendship trap, the “better to drink at my house than the neighbors” trap or the long time touted “I’m bored“.  Parents have a responsibility to tow the line and hold their youth accountable –  follow the law.  I’ve always wondered how many parents would teach their kids to shoplift?  When I bring that up in conversation I am met with gasps!  No one would do that – then how did we get to a point where we pick and choose which law is OK to break?  Why is it OK to give an inexperienced driver alcohol (also not legal age) and expect them to get home in one piece (this is of course a rhetorical question).

In our house, I told my daughter flat out, “If you are around alcohol at any event you need to leave or I will lose my job and our names will be plastered in the papers”.  OK, I may have exagerated a bit – but I would have lost my job easily and there is little doubt (in this day and age)that my name would have made front page, or at least the local section, of the paper.  I was clear  with my daughter – front and center – no drinking until 21 http://www.why21.org/.  Laws are made for the betterment of the whole.

Let every man remember that to violate the law is to trample on the blood of his father, and to tear that charter of his own and his children’s liberty.
Abraham Lincoln

Lastly, I want to thank our county courts for holding parents who provide accountable.  This is clearly unacceptable behavior. 

Simera Reynolds, M. Ed.

Care for the ones you love.

Care for the ones you love.

Leave a Reply

