MADD about Motorcycle Safety

Posted: June 11, 2010 in Campaign to Eliminate Drunk Driving
Tags: , ,

Last night I went to a memorial for two young people, Josh & Morgan, that lost their lives on a motorcycle to a drunk driver.  What I took away from the memorial was friendships last forever, gone but not forgotten is not just a catch phrase but the truth, and passion pursuades.  

Kim, Josh’s Mom, talked to the many bikers that drove up on their motorcycles to honor their friend, and made an impassioned plea to “please please always be safe”. Her words echoed in my heart as I know I think those same words daily as my husband rides his motorcycle & my nephew rides his motorcycle. There are times we can not control events but we can ensure that we ride smart and safe. 

If you have not read about motorcycle safety you may want to look at this link.http://www.msf-usa.org/ Here at MADD we want everyone on the road to drive smart, safe and sober.  

The goal is to enjoy the road and arrive home to those you love and whom love you.  I know that there have been times when my husband has been just 15 minutes late and it is dusk and I begin to, ever so slightly, cringe – I don’t want a knock on the door. 

At the end of the touching memorial, Amy Wieczorek spoke about the loss of her good friend Morgan.  Her words burn bright:   

One light touches many lives.

 “A thousand candles can be lit from a single candle. All it takes is one. For the past 3 years, I have strived to be a light in someone’s darkness, including my own. Tonight we honor our best friends, Morgan and Josh. They will forever be a light in our hearts leading us in a promising direction, shinning as a sliver …of hope for a better tommorrow for all of us. I miss you everyday of my life, RIP Morgie”.

Leave a Reply

