Drunk driving does not discriminate

Posted: December 17, 2010 in Campaign to Eliminate Drunk Driving

Today is December 17th, a day that is imprinted onto my heart.  In 2006, my mother was riding in a car looking at the holiday lights with her sister in Fort Collins. Four years ago today at about 9:00 pm, I had that phone call that none of us want, many of us never believe it will happen to our family and others dread knowing full well it can happen to us. 

I remember the day before, Saturday, December 16th, the most vivid as I was painting a room in the house with anticipation of the coming holiday!  My mom called and she noticed I wasn’t very attentive to her conversation (just like a kid preoccupied with my life) and so we agreed I would give her a call on Sunday.  Well Sunday came and went with out me calling my mom – I know busy with life again!

The phone rang  that night and I knew it must be my mom, my daughter answered but it was not my mom it was my father.  He was at the hospital and had been there since 6 pm when my mom, aunt and uncle were struck by a drunk driver.  Drunk driving is merciless it knows no boundaries and will impact anyone at anytime. 

Honestly, as my father told me about the events, all I could really think about was how I did not talk to my mother on Saturday. Too busy painting, ugh!  I should have listened, I should have told her I loved her, I should of……anything but hear the news of a drunk driving crash.

So this week, take time to listen to your friends and loved ones as you may never know when it will be the last time.  I know when someone calls I listen now more than ever and I have for the last four years.  I just spoke to my mom a few minutes ago.  They are coming over for dinner with my daughter and son-in-law as he graduates from the University of Nebraska this week.  My mom is here and my daughter is here and I am fortunate to have them for my best friends. 

This week when a phone call comes in listen like you never listened before – life is short and we must hold onto every moment.

If you have been impacted by a drunk driver contact MADD – we help survivors survive.

MADD helped me in 2006 and I will always be grateful.

Leave a Reply

